What were the original 14 NFL teams?

The NFL is a popular sports organization in America. The NFL since its inception has been welcomed with great excitement league after league with many states associating themselves with teams in the league.

NFL before its inception in September 1920 was called American Professional Football Association.

Many have questioned the origin and the number of teams the NFL started with as many argued about the number of teams that assumed play after 1920.

What were the original 14 NFL teams?

After the NFL’s Inaugural ceremony 14 teams featured in its league. These teams are:

  • 1. The  Akron Pros
  • 2. Buffalo All-Americans
  • 3. Canton Bulldogs
  • 4. Chicago Tigers
  • 5. Cleveland Tigers
  • 6. Columbus Panhandles
  • 7. Dayton Triangles
  • 8. Decatur Staleys
  • 9. Rock Island Independents
  • 10. Detroit Heralds
  • 11. Hammond Pros
  • 12. Muncie Flyers
  • 13. Rochester Jeffersons
  • 14. The Chicago Cardinals

Out of the 14 teams, the Chicago Cardinals now Arizona Cardinals, and the Decatur Staleys now Chicago Bears are founding members that are still existent in the field of play.